Everybody has a story — what’s yours?

Sitting among 100,000 boisterous people in a college football stadium usually doesn’t lend itself to deep thoughts or epiphanies.

But several years ago on a warm autumn Saturday, I looked around at a crowd of strangers and thought: Every single one of these people has a story.

That intrusion into my thoughts made me realize how little we really know about our friends, acquaintances and, of course, strangers.

We know the superficial things about those close to us, sure. But often not the deeper joys and disappointments, the life experiences that have shaped them into unique individuals. The older I get, the more fascinated I am by this stuff.

That’s what “Irish Investigations” is all about. I’m Irish, so I’m interested in storytelling. And I’m nosy. So this blog’s goal is a greater understanding of the human condition, of the folks we’re doing time with. They’re all we have, really.

Writer Anne Lamott puts it this way: “We write to expose the unexposed. If there is one door in the castle you have been told not to go through, you must. Otherwise, you’ll just be rearranging furniture in rooms you’ve already been in. Most human beings are dedicated to keeping that one door shut. But the writer’s job is to see what’s behind it …”

About Jim McKeever

Writer, father, runner, advocate based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Irish Investigations and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Everybody has a story — what’s yours?

  1. Susan Cole says:

    Bravo, Jim! I look forward to your posts.
    I love this thought and already know that you have a gift for interviewing and seeking out interesting stories.

    Why are you still reading this comment? Get writing!

    Like

  2. I teach a writing class and one of the things I’m always saying is “everyone has a story – what’s yours?” A grad sent me an e-mail a while ago telling me that it’s become his best pick up line. It seems people like to tell their stories if you give them a chance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

