Welcome words of encouragement: “Way to go, guy!”

Chuck Doyle, left, offers encouragement to everyone he sees along the beach trail in San Clemente, Calif. Photo by Steve Breazeale, San Clemente Times.

Chuck Doyle, left, offers encouragement to everyone he sees along the beach trail in San Clemente, Calif. Photo by Steve Breazeale, San Clemente Times.

I’ve had the good fortune to spend some quality vacation time in San Clemente, a gorgeous beach city in southern California.

The city slopes down to the Pacific, and the beach area is a haven for surfers, swimmers, runners and walkers.

There’s a sandy trail that’s set back from the water and extends a mile or more in each direction.

On each visit, I’ve spent a significant amount of time on that trail, running back and forth to my heart’s content.

On many of those runs, I came across an older gentleman as he strolled along the trail – never by himself, which is no surprise.

Every time, the man would look up as I approached, offer up a big smile and a wave of his cane, and say the same thing in enthusiastic fashion: “Way to go, guy!”

His greeting, and his overall good cheer, always brought a smile to my face. If I was having a sub-par run, it improved considerably. If I was having a good run, it got even better.

I told my San Clemente family about these encounters with the man I called the “way-to-go-guy guy” on the beach trail.

Some time later, my sister came across a newspaper article about this goodwill ambassador, whose name is Chuck Doyle. He’s a retired firefighter and U.S. Navy veteran, and he is 90 years young. He’s on the beach trail every day, making people happy in his little corner of the world.

As Chuck told the San Clemente Times, “I enjoy the fact that when I say hello to people, they smile and they really light up…”

You’ve got that right, Chuck. Way to go!

SanClemente pier
A view of San Clemente, Calif., from the pier.
About Jim McKeever

Observer, writer, father, runner based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Irish Investigations, running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome words of encouragement: “Way to go, guy!”

  1. markbialczak says:

    A sunny personality for all he meets. San Clemente Chuck makes a lot of lives better. I smiled reading his story. Thanks for sharing your California dream runs, Mr. McKeever.

    Like

Leave a Reply

