Memorial of ‘The Forgotten War’ a must-see in DC

Korean War Memorial

One of the 19 statues in the Korean War Memorial in Washington, DC.

Each time I visit Washington, D.C. I run on the National Mall and stop to reflect at each memorial. I try, with limited success, to grasp the depth of what each represents.

It is a humbling tradition that allows me to step back from the mundane narrowness of day-to-day existence and let the big picture to come into focus.

While my generation identifies more with the Vietnam Memorial Wall, it is the Korean War Veterans Memorial that pulls me in more than any other.

When I try to describe it to those who haven’t seen it, “hauntingly beautiful” is the best I can come up with.

Closeup of one of the 19 statues in the Korean War Memorial.

Closeup of one of the 19 statues.

The 19 statues representing American forces are about 7 feet high, and it’s their faces that stay with me more than anything else.

A granite mural wall alongside the statues is filled with etchings of photographs from the war, and is a work of art in itself.

Korea is sometimes called “the Forgotten War,” coming on the heels of World War II, but the three-year conflict cost 54,246 American lives and more than a million others.

Growing up, I heard mainly of World War II, since my father and an uncle served in non-combat roles during that war. I don’t recall hearing anything about Korea.

Years later, I lived next door to a Korean War vet who was very active in local veterans’ groups. He took part in parades, advocated on behalf of other vets, played taps at funerals. From what I remember, he had a difficult time talking about the war even a half-century later.

I can’t pretend to understand what Korea, or any other war, was like. But I am glad the memorials grace our nation’s capital, to help us try.

Korean War Memorial

The Korean War Memorial in Washington, D.C.

About Jim McKeever

Observer, writer, father, runner based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in war and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memorial of ‘The Forgotten War’ a must-see in DC

  1. markbialczak says:

    I lived in suburban Maryland, a crow’s flight from D.C., for six years, and I have no memory of visiting the Korean War Memorial. Thanks to your words and photos, I know I missed something I’d never forget, Jim.

    Like

Leave a Reply

