At what age are we ‘senior citizens’? Time will tell

Thanks, but no, thanks.

Thanks, but no, thanks.

When I was 49, the constant letters from AARP were bad enough.

Eight years later, it’s Time magazine’s turn to take a cheap shot.

Time’s special offer arrived in the mail the other day, a discount subscription “for senior citizen use only.”

That was just one of three uses of “senior citizen” on the top half of the order form. In case we forgot, I suppose.

As if that weren’t bad enough, the mailer featured a photo of Robert Redford looking … um … well, like he’s “had some work done.” Yes, his face shows some well-earned “character lines,” but the hair — whatever shade that is — has got to go.

Robert Redford, Time, May 5, 2014

Robert Redford, Time, May 5, 2014

I admire Redford, 78, for his acting skills, environmental activism and support of other visual artists via the Sundance Film Festival. But not as a shrinking news magazine’s answer to Wilford Brimley.

Time’s offer is a fair one — $20 for up to 18 months of the weekly, not to mention a (REDUNDANCY ALERT!) “free gift” of some sort of weather clock. But the senior citizen thing is a buzzkill.

As Redford said in a scene from a certain well-known film, “I don’t mind what you did. I mind the way you did it.”

So I won’t subscribe. I don’t want to be reminded every week that I am considered part of the grumpy old man demographic, shuffling out to the mailbox in slippers.

Perhaps in another 20 years I’ll reconsider. Does anyone know if Time publishes a large-print edition?

About Jim McKeever

Writer, father, runner, advocate based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Aging, communication, Irish Investigations, language and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to At what age are we ‘senior citizens’? Time will tell

  1. Susan Cole says:

    I met with a cancer researcher this week that let me know we should no longer use the term “elderly” because it is offensive to patients (imagine that). He told me they prefer “older adults” so I asked him what the cut off age was to be considered an older adult. The answer, for research purposes, is 70.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jim McKeever says:

    Sounds good to me, Susan, especially since the life expectancy numbers in the U.S. are in the upper 70s, I think.

    Like

  3. markbialczak says:

    It’s been at least 10 years that the PGA Tour changed the name of its after-regular circuit from the Senior Tour to the Champions Tour, Jim. And, holy cow, I never thought I’d have to point out the PGA Tour as the leader in something like that. I’d be chomping at the bit to take advantage of Time Magazine’s Champions offer of a subscription of $20 for 18 months, with a weather clock to boot! Wouldn’t you? Great post. Let’s stump for sweeping change. I am so ready for a 5 percent Denny’s Champions discount on a grilled cheese sandwich.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jim McKeever says:

    I like the “champions” concept, Mark! And don’t worry … I’m sure Time magazine will find you sooner or later.

    Like

Leave a Reply

