Unexpected lessons learned after running 26.2 miles

My bib from Sunday's Nationwide Children's Hospital Columbus Marathon.

My bib from Sunday’s Nationwide Children’s Hospital Columbus Marathon.

Running 26.2 miles provides plenty of lessons and revelations, but it’s often the unexpected that stand out. Here are four from Sunday in Columbus, Ohio — kindness, helplessness, desperation and yes, more kindness.

Kindness 

After finishing the Nationwide Children’s Hospital Columbus Marathon, I felt nauseous. I crossed the finish line and walked — very slowly — to grab some energy bars and chocolate milk, then headed over to the area where our bags of dry clothes were kept.

Somehow I didn’t notice the table where volunteers waited to retrieve our bags, which had numbered stickers matching our bibs. In my fog, I saw hundreds of bags on a stretch of grass, so I just wandered over to find mine.

I realized my mistake when a volunteer approached and asked me if I was supposed to be there. I mumbled something incoherent, gave up my search and — starting to feel even worse — lay down on a slope of grass in the sun.

Moments later, as I fought a mental tug-of-war with nausea, the very same volunteer brought my bag to me. She must have looked at the number on my race bib and found my bag. That was incredibly nice of her. She could have been cranky, but chose kindness.

Helplessness

As I lay there on the grass, I noticed a pair of legs maybe 10 feet away. They belonged to another marathon finisher who was bent over and vomiting. I could do absolutely nothing.

I kept one eye open to try to make sure she didn’t keel over or show signs of real trouble. All I could have done would be to signal somehow that she was in distress. I was useless beyond that.

There was comfort in knowing there were plenty of trained medical professionals in the area. I gave a silent thanks for whatever is in those people who learn those skills and are willing to use them, paid or not. If not for them, wonderful events like marathons wouldn’t exist.

Eventually the woman stood up, walked to a different spot and seemed to be recovering. Good for her — not so for me, because it left me to concentrate on my own misery.

Desperation

Maybe 10 minutes later, I got up to find my running companions. They could tell I was hurting, and we began the slow trudge to our hotel, several (uphill) blocks away. I was getting colder, even though I had managed to put on three of the dry shirts in my bag, in addition to the high-tech “space blanket” given out at the finish line.

Still, I could not get warm enough. As we walked past a massive trash container, I saw several used space blankets inside. I reached in, grabbed one and wrapped it around my shoulders, matching the one I had around my waist.

I understood at that moment the desperation that the homeless or destitute must feel when they rummage in Dumpsters for clothing or worse, food. It’s an unfair comparison, of course. My situation was temporary and not as dire, but the analogy came to mind. It gave me a greater appreciation for, and understanding of, that kind of desperation.

Kindness 

My running companions, with whom I trained for months, kept an eye on me all the way back to the hotel. One of them made sure I had water next to my bed, and he took my room key with him so he could check on me and get help quickly if I needed it. A few hours and a serious nap later, I was fine and (shhhh) celebrating somewhat.

There are many well-known reasons people run marathons, but sometimes they offer surprises and rewards. I owe a major thanks to everyone who showed their humanity on Sunday, especially the volunteer who retrieved my bag, my buddies Ed and Michelle, and our friends and family (and thousands of strangers) who cheered us on.

And I hope the runner who was getting sick near me has recovered and is already planning her next 26.2-mile adventure.

About Jim McKeever

Writer, father, runner, advocate based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in children's hospital, hunger, Irish Investigations, running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Unexpected lessons learned after running 26.2 miles

  1. Nice! You ran a great race. When’s the next one?

    Like

  2. markbialczak says:

    Congratulations. You did it. You finished another 26.2-mile run, and on the grounds of your alma mater. You, my longtime friend, former colleague, forever birth year mate, are an amazing man. Congratulations. Yes, twofold is in order.

    And, no surprise, you take from your Greecian effort Olympian (old-school, anyway) lessons of humility and humanity. Bravo, Jim. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I never could get into running and had no idea that people get so sick after a marathon Jim. I’m glad you’re feeling better and grateful that you and your friends ran for a good cause.
    Diana xo

    Like

  4. chmjr2 says:

    Congratulations on your running these events. I am sure you have put much hard work into this effort.

    Like

  5. I tip my hat to those of you who run – let alone run 26.2 miles! Congrats!

    Like

  6. lundygirl says:

    I don’t know how you did the race – so long – but I am impressed and glad you recovered well. Volunteers make a world of difference.

    Like

  7. Congratulations Jim! I’m glad you recovered enough to celebrate! 🙂 I have heard other wonderful stories (finishes!) from the marathon. I’m glad for the lessons you shared as well.

    Like

  8. Lorrie Fitzgibbons says:

    3 thoughts. First and foremost , thank you and your friends for raising money for such a great cause, the world needs more people like you, Ed and Michelle. Number 2, running a marathon is not on my bucket list and never will be! And 3, those trained medical professionals are there for a reason—I wish you had asked for their help, let them check your blood pressure , heart rate etc. Thanks again

    Like

    • Jim McKeever says:

      Thank you, Lorrie! While we didn’t directly solicit funds, our participation (and that of the other 18,000 runners!) does help the children’s hospital in Columbus. And as far as seeking help afterward, have you ever heard the term “stubborn Irishman”? 🙂

      Like

  9. ermigal says:

    I will ditto Lorrie–thanks for the fundraising efforts for a worthy cause, Jim. My 23-year-old daughter is a marathoner and I am in awe of anyone who attempts such a grueling undertaking. Definitely not for the faint-of-heart! Congrats! 🙂

    Like

    • Jim McKeever says:

      Thank you, Ermi …. While we didn’t directly solicit donations, taking part in the event does help the children’s hospital in Columbus. At almost every mile point, a pediatric patient was there with family and a lot of runners slowed down to give them a high five!

      Like

Leave a Reply

