It’s easy to bitch about the Post Office, but . . .

A Nov. 7 screenshot showing my Priority Mail tracking. Note the expected delivery date on the top, and the number of trips to California. (A screenshot from earlier Nov. 7 showed a different departure time that morning (photo below).

A screenshot showing my Priority Mail package en route to Seattle. Note the expected delivery date on the top, and the number of trips to and from California after the package left Central New York Oct. 27. As of Nov. 10, it hadn’t been delivered.

This is not a rant about the U.S. Postal Service — even though a “Priority Mail” birthday package I sent last month is in limbo somewhere on the West Coast.

True, my son’s birthday box of presents (and cash) hasn’t arrived as I post this. But rather than gripe about what happened, I want to compliment the USPS in general, and one clerk in particular.

It’s a classic example of good customer service. I know the USPS has its share of problems, financial and otherwise, but I have to give credit where it’s due.

Here’s the deal: I sent a Priority Mail box from Central New York to my son in Seattle, with an expected delivery date one day before his birthday. I’ve sent many of these packages, and have never had a problem.

After several days tracking the package as it racked up frequent flier miles bouncing between Washington State and California, I filled out a “delayed mail report” on the USPS website. The next day I received a call from a clerk at my local post office, who has been incredibly diligent as well as apologetic.

He’s been calling the processing facilities on the West Coast, and is doing everything he can to try to find out why my package is in another dimension. He told me to come in for a refund of the $17.90 postage. “We haven’t lived up to our end of the bargain,” he said.

The package comes with $50 insurance, so I will file to at least recover some of my losses. My son is minus some birthday presents, but the clerk said there is still a chance the package will get to him or be sent back to me.

Oddly, the experience has left me with a positive feeling — all because one clerk, one employee, takes pride in what he does and knows how to treat customers. It’s a lesson that other companies and employees would do well to learn.

On that note, I am in the midst of the exact opposite experience dealing with a national retail outfit. Stay tuned here for that story.

About Jim McKeever

Writer, father, runner, advocate based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in communication, family, Irish Investigations, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to It’s easy to bitch about the Post Office, but . . .

  1. chmjr2 says:

    I have had dealings with the U.S. Postal Service for many years. I am mostly pleased on how well they handle the mail flow. The only complaint I have is the long waits I have when I need window service. They have cut staffing levels too low. The waits have gotten longer and longer over the years. I hope your son receives that package soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s all about customer service Jim – love this post and your generous and forgiving spirit!
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had the same pleasant experience with a USPS worker by phone. I was trying to order from the USPS service. Their online ordering system leaves something to be desired. But the man I talked to was SO pleasant, courteous and helpful I will not hesitate to use them again. Even if I have to go through the process of getting help because the site doesn’t work. The people are wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. markbialczak says:

    Bravo to your helpful clerk. Too bad the package is floating on the left coast, of the Syracusan’s grasp. Yes, the lines at the P.O. are always long. As I stand and wait to buy my stamps or mail my package, I always think: Wait a minute, nobody uses snail mail anymore, right? Or so somebody wants us all to believe. I don’t.

    And I will sign off, Jim, with: Freaking Target.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ermigal says:

    I like your positive attitude, Jim, and also that you appreciate the efforts of one person rather than writing off the whole outfit. Stuff happens, unfortunately, it happened to you. I have a feeling it will surface soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. jeffspelblog says:

    And when you realize what is really happening, you might decide to go to the post office REGARDLESS (as I do)…
    http://worleydervish.blogspot.com/2011/09/truth-about-usps-crisis-summary.html

    Liked by 1 person

  7. jeffspelblog says:

    Sorry to post twice, but this fake “Post Office Crisis” story is one of my pet peeves, corporate takeover of public assets. The Post Office is owned by all of us, as a part of the Commons, and is a service, not a business. Here’s another take on it: http://www.dailykos.com/story/2012/04/22/1084948/-Republicans-manufacture-a-crisis-for-the-Postal-Service-and-too-many-Democrats-go-along#

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

