WordPress Photo 101: How to represent “home”

Wordpress, Photo 101

This image for the Photo 101 WordPress Blogging University represents “home” to me.

The WordPress Photo 101 assignment: take a photograph representing what “home” looks like or means to me.

I’ve chosen an admittedly “busy” photo. Some objects are easily identifiable, some are not.

The piano and mandolin represent the importance of music in my life, and how a home filled with music is often a happy one. The framed print on the wall is a photo taken in Ghana by my girlfriend, a professional photojournalist who cares deeply about the people she photographs. Her compassionate art is important to me and deserves a prominent place in our home.

The unidentifiable — parkas that convert to sleeping bags. These were delivered today, and are going to be given to homeless people in Syracuse, NY. The items were donated by a friend in California. They are made by The Empowerment Plan, a not-for-profit in Detroit that hires homeless women and trains them to be seamstresses.

It’s fitting that they arrived today before this assignment about “home.” I have a modest, comfortable home. Many among us do not. So I included two of these coats/sleeping bags in the photo. My friend sent 10 to me, and another 10 to his daughter in Chicago to distribute there.

About Jim McKeever

Writer, father, runner, advocate based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Homeless, Irish Investigations, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to WordPress Photo 101: How to represent “home”

  1. I love this, what a great idea Jim and from what I’ve learned about you on your blog, you nailed it! ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post Jim and I like the helping too 😉

    Like

  3. chmjr2 says:

    The picture just radiates warmth to me. Something that all modest and comfortable homes have.

    Like

  4. Interesting compilation. Makes me think of the different images we would see if we saw images from many different perspectives…and you managed to do that in one picture.

    Like

  5. Lovely Jim, I like how you link it to those who do not have a home. Keep making the world sit up and listen.

    Like

  6. Jim McKeever says:

    Thank you, Kath. The delivery of the sleeping bags was too coincidental to ignore!

    Like

  7. markbialczak says:

    This photograph is you, Jim. Wonderful first day of class, my friend. I think your California chrony is a terrific human being.

    Like

  8. Smartcooky says:

    Wonderful idea those sleeping bags! And your photo has a feeling of whimsey for me, it made me smile right away,the way you piled everything up, like, “here!, this is home”.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Forward March: Sunday Blog Visits | JoHanna Massey

Leave a Reply

