WordPress Photo 101, Day 2: Street Scene

WordPress Blogging University

Street Scene for Blogging University, Photo 101.

A not-so-famous actor on his deathbed allegedly said, “Dying is easy. Comedy is hard.”

Well, so is photography.

Today’s assignment reminded me of this. As did yesterday’s. As will tomorrow’s.

Today: Street scene. Think about foreground and background. Maybe try a different vantage point, several stories high.

Trying to get a good photo in a blinding snowstorm is difficult. Today’s street-level shot is missing the crucial element I was after — a bicyclist navigating the snow-covered street near Syracuse University, near the bike route sign. He rounded the corner at the same time as a city bus, and steadied himself by touching the side of the moving bus with his left hand.

How did I see this, but not capture it in a photo? Snow was in my eyes, my hands were freezing, my camera was in a pocket of my winter coat and by the time I retrieved it and turned it on, both cyclist and bus were long gone. I took comfort in the presence of a lowly pedestrian, put him/her in the frame with the bike route sign in the foreground, heaved a heavy sigh. . .

. . . and went indoors to shoot from the comfort of a 12-story window, where I took the photo below. As difficult as writing is, photography is harder. Now I have to go out and shovel my driveway. Again. Welcome to Syracuse.

Street Scene 2, WordPress Blogging University. Twelve stories high.

Street Scene 2, WordPress Blogging University. Twelve stories high.

 

About Jim McKeever

Observer, writer, father, runner based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Irish Investigations, photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to WordPress Photo 101, Day 2: Street Scene

  1. ksbeth says:

    i still like it. the street signs seem hilarious in light of the situation. good sacrifice for your art, jim )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Capturing that cyclist would have been awesome Jim, but I still like the photo! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  3. markbialczak says:

    Nice perspective from ahigh, Jim. And your plan for the bike route and cyclist was perfect. Too bad the cold and snow foiled the execution. Dagnabbit. We were one block apart with our photographs today. I shot mine at 1:30 p.m. You snapped a bit later, I’m guessing …

    Like

  4. Smartcooky says:

    I love your narrative…It will be forever in my mind…the snow, the bicyclist, the hand on the bus. I admire your effort. I’m so happy to be in California. I will never let the weather give me an excuse to not go out shooting!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jim McKeever says:

      Thank you, Jennifer! And I enjoyed your imaginative treatments of “home” and “”street” as well. As for “water” today, I think it’s going to be snow or ice for me …

      Like

  5. Ha – this reminds me of my problems yesterday. I saw a nnice juxtaposition of a traffic warden, a post box and a grey squirrel. But of course they weren’t there when I came back later with a camera. Although the sqirrel reappeared but wouldn’t stay still. And the post box of course was static!

    Like

  6. cat9984 says:

    That picture at the top definitely evokes a strong emotional reaction. At least for those of us who live in cold climates.

    Like

Leave a Reply

