Photo 101, Day 5: Solitude, Pacific Ocean-style

My brother looks out at the vastness of the Pacific.

My brother looks out at the vastness of the Pacific.

When I read the Photo 101 assignment focusing on solitude and the rule of thirds, I immediately thought of this shot I took in October 2011.

It’s an image of my brother looking out over the Pacific Ocean. Based on the sun’s position and shadow, it was nearing late afternoon. (He’s wearing running shoes with reflective patches on the back, but I don’t recall the flash going off.) I could have cropped more from the right for rule-of-thirds’ sake, but I didn’t want to diminish the vastness of the ocean.

The photo recalls a happy occasion — my sister and I conspired with our sister-in-law to arrange a surprise visit for our brother’s 60th birthday. What better place than southern California to do so?

About Jim McKeever

Writer, father, runner, advocate based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Irish Investigations, photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Photo 101, Day 5: Solitude, Pacific Ocean-style

  1. ksbeth says:

    perfect surprise

    Like

  2. Andrea Kenner says:

    Gorgeous shot!

    Like

  3. Excellent shot, perfect!

    Like

  4. markbialczak says:

    I look at this shot and I say, ahhhhhhhhh.

    Beautiful, Jim.

    Like

  5. Solitude is best by the beach I always say. Love the photo Jim.

    Like

  6. emiliaciepla says:

    I love the photo! I can almost hear the sound of waves and smell the see weeds and salty water. I’ve never seen any ocean (might this comming summer), but the sea gives me such a sense of peace and calm.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

