Photo 101, Day 9: Let there be (sun) light

Sunlight reflects in the frozen creek along my running route.

Sunlight reflects in the frozen creek along my running route.

After seeing the Photo 101 assignment for Day 9 — use the sun to light a shot, possibly from a creative angle — I knew an early morning run was in order. (We’re also supposed to show warmth, but that’s tough in these parts at 7 a.m. in March!)

I tried several different scenes as the sun rose along my route, but the best one got away. As I ran the last stretch toward home, I looked up and saw three geese (flying north!) partly illuminated from behind by the sun.

The moment was just that. A split second, maybe two. Too fast for me to retrieve my phone from inside my glove and capture it. That was discouraging, but it reminded me just how difficult photography is. So here are a couple of consolation shots.

A church steeple along my early morning running route. I'm facing east as the sun comes up.

A church steeple along my early morning running route. I’m facing east-northeast as the sun comes up.

About Jim McKeever

Writer, father, runner, advocate based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Irish Investigations, photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Photo 101, Day 9: Let there be (sun) light

  1. Amy says:

    Lovely picture.

    Like

  2. markbialczak says:

    Home run. (!)

    Your best day yet in our class, my friend. I love both of your photographs.

    Like

    • Jim McKeever says:

      Thanks, Mark! (Spring training getting into your blood, is it?) … The geese photo would have been awesome. It’s still in my mind’s eye. It’s also my “fish that got away” story, unfortunately.

      Like

      • markbialczak says:

        Well, spring training, sure, but you got these two shots running near your home, so … you know me and words.

        Don’t lament too much about the one that got away. Just remember where and be ready if they should ever return!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. rachelwhims says:

    I love the light in the top one and the warmth of the second one. Great job!

    Like

  4. My favourite is the first one Jim – bravo! ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jim McKeever says:

      Thanks, Diana … the lesson is to have a camera on hand whenever possible. And to keep looking for potential photos even when you think you’re all set. This shot was the last of about 5 stops that morning. Fortunately I took enough time on the first four that it allowed the sun to come over the horizon and reflect on the ice — I was about a half-block from home when that happened! Jim

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for liking my mystery post. Your post, Let there be (sun) light calls to my spirit. Very good job!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

