Photo 101, Day 10: A light mystery, on ice

This hockey stick was left behind at the frozen pond in my neighborhood.

This hockey stick was left behind at the frozen pond in my neighborhood.

The Day 10 assignment in WordPress’ Photo 101 encouraged us to share an image of some mystery — a photo that raises questions, that has some inherent ambiguity. And to use light in a creative way, if possible.

I thought back to my Day 9 sunrise images, and recalled an outtake that might fit the bill for Day 10. The frozen pond in my neighborhood is used quite often for “shinny,” or pickup pond hockey. Sometimes things get left behind.

Is this hockey stick broken, and discarded because it’s of no use? Is that other item in the snow a shard from the handle? Or is the stick intact? (And is a distraught future Wayne Gretzky missing a prized possession?) . . . I don’t know how deep the snow is at that spot, but we’ve certainly had plenty of it this winter.

Should I stroll down to the pond to see if the stick is still there? Or should I just leave it a mystery?

About Jim McKeever

Observer, writer, father, runner based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Irish Investigations, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Photo 101, Day 10: A light mystery, on ice

  1. Katie Breen Allen says:

    I saw go back at sunset and see if it’s still there!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Right away I knew this wasn’t taken in Canada. No future Gretzky, or any other Canadian for that matter, would leave a stick behind Jim. 😉

    I say let the mystery live on. ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. markbialczak says:

    Great shot, Jim. Very mysterious. I think you should let sleeping sticks lie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

