Photo 101, Day Thirteen: ‘Ultimately, life is fleeting’

Family and friends of a little girl known as "Ms. Toots" release balloons last summer on what would have been her 2nd birthday. Arie Baugh died of kidney cancer at 22 months.

I struggled today to find an image to satisfy the Photo 101 assignment, “Moment & Motion.”

And then I thought of these shots I took last summer. Family and friends of a 22-month-old girl who died of kidney cancer gathered on what would have been her second birthday. Little Arie Baugh was a sweetheart. The balloons were released at the conclusion of a celebration of her life.

I can’t think of a better fit for today’s instructions from Cheri at Blogging U.: “Our lives are made up of big events and tiny moments. Ultimately, life is fleeting, and oftentimes it’s these small moments, this motion, that we love to document.”

IMG_1931

About Jim McKeever

Observer, writer, father, runner based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Irish Investigations, photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Photo 101, Day Thirteen: ‘Ultimately, life is fleeting’

  1. Nice photos and a very touching description. It really resonated with me. Today is my birthday, and one year ago I was undergoing chemotherapy. I am very fortunate to have been in remission since last June, but often think of those who failed to win their fight against cancer, and for someone so young to be taken is a true tragedy. I used to kind of dread another birthday coming (I’m pretty sure that I can’t pretend to still be ‘middle aged ‘ unless humans start living well past 125!) but now I have a different perspective, and am just happy to be having this one, feeling great – and even with some hair on my head.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jim McKeever says:

      Thank you for that, and happy birthday as well! I wish you the best of health and happiness. The little girl, Arie, was my honoree last year and again this year (in memory) at the St. Baldrick’s Foundation fundraiser in Syracuse, NY. She was a patient at the hospital affiliated with the medical university where I work.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful way to honour the memory of that little girl, Jim. Love the photos! ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jim McKeever says:

    Thank you, Diana … And at St. Baldrick’s a couple of weeks ago, Arie’s mom, dad and brothers all showed up to hear Arie be honored. Courage beyond my imagination.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lucy Camp says:

    That really is a moving moment captured in time – a lump int he throat Jim

    Like

  5. I love the deeper story you’ve shared in your comments about your tribute for Arie and her family. Such tender kindness in your words and acts.

    Like

  6. A very straightforward and unemotional explanation coupled with the images made the piece very moving indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. markbialczak says:

    They are more beautiful to me today than there were last summer, my friend. I’m choked up all over. 😦 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. yprior1 says:

    great photo s- and inspiring post!

    Like

  9. Life is fleeting, I agree and what a better way to celebrate life than setting a ballon free on the wind. Very sad, but a lovely idea.

    Like

Leave a Reply

