Photo 101: A closeup of a treasure? Good grief …

Charlie Brown in my house, 2015.

Charlie Brown in my house, 2015.

It took all of two seconds to choose a “treasure” to photograph today for our Photo 1o1 assignment.

Charlie Brown has been a part of my life since I was old enough to read “Peanuts,” the ingenious and tender comic strip penned by Charles Schulz. My Charlie Brown figure is actually older than I am. I seem to recall family photos of my older brother with it before I was born; somewhere I have photos of the two of us in our snowy front yard with “CB.”

When the snow was deep enough, we’d take turns throwing Charlie behind us over our heads and then race each other to find him buried in the snow. All three of us survived the ensuing mayhem.

The photo below shows me with my Dad and Charlie. I think I’m probably a little over 1 year old; Charlie is at least 60. He holds a place of honor on top of my refrigerator.

Charlie Brown in my house, circa 1958.

Charlie Brown in my house, circa 1958.

About Jim McKeever

Writer, father, runner, advocate based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Irish Investigations, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Photo 101: A closeup of a treasure? Good grief …

  1. ksbeth says:

    great find, jim. a national treasure for sure –

    Liked by 1 person

  2. berryduchess says:

    awww. I love this post!

    Like

  3. Joseph McKeever says:

    Jim, Awesome post. Yes, Charlie is at least 60, probably 61 or 62. I had forgotten about tossing him in the snow. Great stuff the picture of you and Dad is terrific. Keep it up!

    Joe

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

  4. What an heirloom Jim – I love it and the stories that go with it. Do you ever look like your dad – strong genes! ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  5. Donna says:

    AAh that is a sweet photo of the three of you.

    Like

  6. markbialczak says:

    This is it, guy. In color and thrilling heirloom black-and-white.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. rachelwhims says:

    Oh my gosh, I love it! The story, the photos, everything. What a fantastic treasure. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  8. Jim that is such a beautiful memory and I am glad you kept him. Little treasures that have so much memories surrounding them.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. If you ever find yourself in the Santa Rosa, California area, go visit the Charles Schultz Museum. Nice post. Very nice treasure.

    Like

  10. Best picture of the day!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. maggiepea says:

    I didn’t realize how big CB was till I saw you holding him on your dad’s lap. He must be made of a solid rubber to have endured all the horseplay and being tossed around. 🙂 I agree, those old toys are such heirlooms. I used to have some small, metal figures (horses and people) I would play with at my grandmother’s apartment in LA. They disappeared. I think most of us recall an old toy and wonder, what happened to that???? Great post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

