Photo 101, Day Seventeen: Glass and a happy hour

OnCenterGlassEvery day of Photo 101 has been instructive, and today was no exception.

It also was fun, because I teamed up with fellow blogger, Photo 101 classmate and long-time friend Mark Bialczak of markbialczak.com on the “glass” assignment.

It was instructive for two reasons.

1. I learned just how difficult it is to create an image that works, or fits a given assignment. I think Mark did just fine, and I’ll check his homework shortly. I, however, failed miserably during our “working lunch,” so I went out later on my own.

2. I became aware of how little attention I sometimes pay to my surroundings. The photo above is of one of a set of circular windows that I walk past five or six times a week. Until today, I never thought to look for any kind of reflection or image in the glass. So I gave it a shot, trying to capture a representative street scene on a very sunny afternoon.

I added the photo below, of our local Justice Center, because the reflected “dazzlers” on the wall caught my eye. I couldn’t determine what was causing them, and I didn’t want to push my luck by snooping closer. Standing outside a jail and taking photos of the windows isn’t the wisest thing to do these days.

Justice1

About Jim McKeever

Observer, writer, father, runner based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Irish Investigations, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Photo 101, Day Seventeen: Glass and a happy hour

  1. markbialczak says:

    I haven’t seen your Clark’s Ale House outtakes, sir, but these two are very nice. Great time for us discussing the lesson and life, as usual, my friend. Thanks. My post tomorrow will be our legacy shot. I am going to email you the picture if you want to run it concurrently. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Donna says:

    Nice and I agree that may not be a good idea but isn’t funny how we don’t notice the small things and miss so much.

    Like

  3. Jim McKeever says:

    Thanks, Mark … looking forward to it, and then some!

    Like

  4. I like the circular window reflection. This course is making me look at things I don’t see even though I pass them every day, and to see them differently. And of course seeing other bloggers interpretation of the daily tasks just ignites further ideas. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jim … Your photos, and your reminder to pay close attention to what’s around us, are wonderful. It is disturbing how much we miss because we’re all in a hurry. Both you and Mark Bialczak have inspired me to do more with my camera. 😉

    Like

  6. I like the scene captured in the circle window, and agree with your assessment on the jail house pictures. 😉 I’ll have to blog hop to Mark’s blog spot to see how he fared today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

