Photo 101, Final Day: Triumph, best shared

ChuckHalfNearFinish copyToday’s Photo 101 assignment asked us to capture an image of triumph.

I went to the files for one of my favorite vicarious triumphs — one of my sons completing his first half-marathon, in 2011. I snagged the above shot of Chuck as he rounded the final corner at the 13-mile mark, with just one-tenth of a mile to go. He was happy (and ignored the red signal for pedestrians).

Running is a huge part of my life, and it’s even better when I get to share it with my sons. This October, my oldest (Dan) and I will run a full marathon together — his first, and my 12th go at the 26.2-mile distance. Below is a photo of my bib and shirt from last year’s Columbus Marathon.

The word on the front of the shirt? “TRIUMPH.”

Cbus2014bib

About Jim McKeever

Observer, writer, father, runner based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Irish Investigations, photography, running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Photo 101, Final Day: Triumph, best shared

  1. Well done on all your races! I struggle to run more than 5k but have no yearning to do more than that….You could have put this photo in the Motion theme day as well 😉

    Like

  2. A family that runs together, plays together, stays together Jim. Love the triumphant photo of your son. ❤
    Diana xo

    Like

  3. Jim McKeever says:

    Ah, thank you Diana! I can’t tell you how excited I am at the prospect of running side-by-side with my son for the marathon … it will make the summer training runs all the more rewarding.

    Like

  4. Pekebun says:

    Yeah! Run on … Love your pics!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jim McKeever says:

    Thank you and good luck with your running (and gardening!)

    Like

  6. markbialczak says:

    Chuck picked up some well and good traits, Jim. You run forth in triumph from Photo 101 and prosper on this blog because of the fruits. And, by the way, enjoy running Danny’s first marathon (and your even dozen!) come October.

    Like

  7. Great photo, Jim. Thirteen miles? I can’t even imagine that. I feel like a trooper when I walk for half an hour. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  8. suzanne says:

    Nice legacy and nice activity to share with your sons! Chuck’s dad!

    Like

Leave a Reply

