A simply beautiful thing, and an ingenious way to share it

Lilacs2These lilacs bloom in our dooryard each spring, but of course their beauty is fleeting.

So it’s best to share it while you can, and not just with a visual.

Two mornings ago, before heading off to the university where several of her friends and classmates are in the midst of an intense graduate course, Michelle clipped one of the blossoms, wrapped it in a wet paper towel and took it with her.

At school, she brought the fragrant flower to every stressed-out classmate and held it up for them to smell. I can’t think of a better incentive to take a deep breath, relax and keep things in perspective.

About Jim McKeever

Writer, father, runner, advocate based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Irish Investigations, peace and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A simply beautiful thing, and an ingenious way to share it

  1. Amy says:

    Beautiful, and I can almost smell it – lilacs are the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the smell of lilacs when they’re outside, but the smell is too strong and gives me a headache when there is a bouquet indoors! ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That was a very kind thing to do for some stressed people. 🙂 Just a few weeks ago I had to go somewhere with a coworker. I stepped out of my car and smelled something AMAZING…. I asked her what it was. She pointed at something and said lilacs. I was dumbstruck at the powerfully beautiful scent. First time I smelled it like that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My Grandmother had a lilac tree almost as tall as the house in her front garden. One of the branches was broken from us kids swinging from it. I love the scent of lilacs for their own sake and not just for the associations. One thing I was reminded of recently was about the superstition of bringing lilac blossom indoors. I took a sprig of blossom in to the house to give to my Nan and she told me to take it out because it was bad luck. Apparently this superstition is quite widespread across Britain and Ireland according to friends on facebook.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jim McKeever says:

      Wow, I had never heard of that superstition, but it’s an interesting one. None of my ancestors were particularly superstitious, as far as I remember. Or maybe they were superstitious about not passing on superstitions …?

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Angie Mc says:

    Oh how I miss lilac bushes! And how very sweet to share their lovely scent with others ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

