A new direction for Irish Investigations blog

A scene in Montpelier, Vermont. Photo by Michelle Gabel.

A scene in Montpelier, Vermont. Photo by Michelle Gabel.

If this blog had a storefront window, I’d have put up a sign in October: “Back in 10 Minutes.”

Oops. It’s been more like 10 weeks.

I’ve been busy developing a professional website to usher me into the next phase of my writing life — that of an independent documentary journalist, seeking rewarding and in-depth projects that I hope will take me to places I’ve never been.

The central theme of Irish Investigations is, “Everybody has a story.” I still embrace that, but I want to explore the larger context of those personal stories — how and why people live as they do. Is it by choice? Or are there other forces, not always benevolent, that dictate what happens to them?

I continue to be inspired by the courage and strength of people who face adversity, who get knocked down and keep getting up. Now it’s time to dig deeper, go further, to bring about positive change.

So here it is. My website, http://jim-mckeever.com, covers some of the landscape I’ve seen in 30-plus years of writing, mostly for newspapers. It took a long time to sort through my files, and I came across a lot of stories I had forgotten about.

Some of the content on my site is recent, while other pieces are dated but still important — to me, anyway. I hope they help me begin the next chapter.

I will continue to post here in Irish Investigations, although less frequently. WordPress offers a great community of writers and readers, and I have benefited greatly since Irish Investigations launched in 2013. I thank you all.

About Jim McKeever

Writer, father, runner, advocate based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Irish Investigations, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A new direction for Irish Investigations blog

  1. Wishing you much success Jim. I will miss you here, but glad to hear you’ll still be around at all. ❤
    Diana xo

    Love your website by the way!

    Like

  2. ksbeth says:

    wonderful news and wonderful work ahead for you. best, beth

    Like

  3. rachelwhims says:

    Good for you! I checked out the new website. Really like the About page. Good luck to you, Mr. McKeever!

    Like

  4. Way to go Jim I will check it out.

    Like

  5. Have a got stories!! Let me know if you run out of people to write about for the new site.

    Congratulations!!!!

    Like

  6. markbialczak says:

    Awesome. Go to it, my friend, building upon that solid work I recall from your archives. You still got it.

    Like

  7. cat9984 says:

    Best wishes! Sounds like a really good use of your talents. Take care

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Best of luck on your new adventure Jim.

    Like

Leave a Reply

