After Orlando, time to fear ‘straight’ white males more than ever

I’ve never been one to suffer fools gladly, but it’s become intolerable. The Orlando massacre sealed the deal.

My sons, raised to be thoughtful and altruistic, are angry. I’m angry, too. I fear for them, and for the dysfunctional country we are leaving as our legacy.

We live in an age of hatred and ignorance, made worse this election season thanks to a concept called “emotional reasoning” — blind allegiance to a faux messiah who’s lying and scapegoating, none of which matters to his followers. It’s too much trouble to think. History should remind us where this can lead.

I’m not going to get into a debate here with anyone’s extremist opinions about guns, religion or sexuality. I’ll simply invoke Daniel Patrick Moynihan and say you’re entitled to your own opinions, but not your own facts. The facts are out there, if you care to look them up.

Here’s a simple one. I read that an extremist Christian pastor was glad the Orlando massacre happened because it rid the world of 50 pedophiles. Sir, being gay is NOT the same thing as being a pedophile. I was an altar boy and attended a Catholic high school whose principal was later found out to be a pedophile. I was fortunate enough not to have been a victim. As for my sons’ public school education, my sons had gay teachers throughout, and I count those teachers as among the best they ever had.

I’ll add this: the only people who have caused me trouble in my almost 60 years on this planet are white, heterosexual – probably “Christian” – males. Most of them, to be blunt, weren’t brought up properly and are, shall we say, “morally challenged.”

Have I encountered any Muslims? Certainly, and Sikhs, Hindus, et al. I see them where I work. They’re usually wearing a white coat and have a medical degree. It’s a safe bet that they’ve saved lives, without considering whether their patient may hate and fear them for no good reason.

I fear this hatred and ignorance more than ever. I don’t worry so much for myself, but for my sons and for future generations. I certainly understand if my sons choose not to bring a child into this world — or at least into this country.

And what a fucking mess this country is in. I no longer pay attention to the presidential campaign, because it depresses the hell out of me and makes me physically ill. When either of the presumptive candidates comes on the airwaves, I shut it off. I can’t stomach either of them.

If the messiah continues to fool most of the people most of the time and becomes our next president, god help us all. We reap what we sow. When everything falls apart after that, there will be no joy in saying, “I told you so.”

About Jim McKeever

Observer, writer, father, runner based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Irish Investigations, religion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to After Orlando, time to fear ‘straight’ white males more than ever

  1. Oh Jim. From north of the 49th parallel, I too fear for your country. I fear for what will happen if the ‘false messiah’ becomes king. I fear the increased guns on yours streets, the belief guns will keep you free from other guns. And I fear where and when will it end.

    Thank you for writing this. Thank you for your courage and truth. The fact is, guns and violence are not the answer.

    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

  2. chmjr2 says:

    It hurt reading your blog today. It is clear that events have shaken your dreams and hope for the future. All I can say is I have truly seen worse times (perhaps you have also) and history shows even darker times. I was born in 1951 and have seen so many changes for the better. If your sons are even close to the type of person you are then I hope they do bring children into the world. We need all the good people we can get. I hope you do not mind but I would like to leave you with this quote which I used over 40 years ago when a friend question me about bring children into this wicked road.

    “In the best of times, our days are numbered anyway. So it would be a crime against nature for any generation to take the world crisis so solemnly that it put off enjoying those things for which we were designed in the first place: the opportunity to do good work, to enjoy friends, to fall in love, to hit a ball, and to bounce a baby.”
    ― Alistair Cooke

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jim McKeever says:

      Thank you for your kind and wise words, Charles. It’s very difficult to be optimistic these days, but I do hope we rebound and, as George Saunders said, “err in the direction of kindness.”

      Like

  3. Jim, that mass shooting in Orlando broke my heart. Hatred is so ugly and violent. If Trump becomes president, and I’m still hoping he won’t, you and your boys can come to Canada and help us build a wall. 😉 ❤
    Diana xo

    p.s. Don't give up on your country, when we least expect it, people often surprise us in a good way. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jim, you have written out my fears better than I could think through them. Horror.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. reocochran says:

    I agree with the religious comments, very concerned when deaths of innocent Pepe occur and one post I read called them “perverted.” Ooh, my righteous indignation wants to scream: “The New Testament says to “Love one another,” you hypocritical self-righteous prig! Of course, if you don’t want that verse, how about “Love thy neighbor as thyself.”
    Beatles song, repeat Love, love love, all we need is Love!
    I have tried to unsubscribe but you have to find the blog on your list, first. Technically inept, Jim. I am 60 going to be 61 later this year, so I suppose you can call me “M’am!” 🙂

    Like

  6. Very poignant, very succinct. This, similar to many things you’ve posted, is very well written. It’s succinct and unwavering: You’ve said what is on a lot of people’s minds, you get to the point and there is no erroneous or unnecessary tangents.

    The Orlando event hopefully widened more eyes, woke up more minds. And because of this, there will probably be a more distinct divide between caring and compassionate people against the hate-filled and volatile.

    Like

    • Jim McKeever says:

      Thanks, Chris, I appreciate your kind words. I’ve been absent from the blogosphere for a while, working on other stuff — which is hard to do when things like Orlando create mental and emotional static. You’re right, I think there will be a more distinct divide. Without Bernie in the mix, there’s no “uniter” to rally behind.

      Like

  7. markbialczak says:

    I always have the thought that somewhere deep inside, these folks of whom you speak who hate in such a knee-jerk reaction fear the unknown and something in themselves as well, Jim, and can’t bear to investigate either side.

    Like

  8. cat9984 says:

    There’s never been a scarier time to think that “we get the government we deserve.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

