‘Thanks for noticing’

I see plenty of unhappiness and misery in downtown Syracuse, but today’s encounter was heartbreaking.

With my $7 lunch in hand, I strolled toward Columbus Circle, the city’s busiest pedestrian cut-through.

I walked by the statue of Christopher Columbus, where a young man was hunched over on a bench, reading something on his phone. And just bawling. He had a backpack and wore baggy clothes.

I kept walking.

But it didn’t feel right. When I got across the street, I stopped and kept an eye on him, wondering what he would do next. And what I should do.

He got up and started walking in the other direction, so I followed. He entered the nearby food pantry/outreach center. I sat on a bench, started in on my lunch and waited for him to come out.

Within two minutes he emerged and started walking, slowly, in my direction. I called to him and he came over.

“You OK?” I asked. “You seemed upset back there.”

His face and shoulders relaxed. “Thanks for noticing,” he said.

I asked what was going on and motioned for him to sit down next to me. He shook his head no, and said, “I don’t know if I want to tell you.”

He said he’s staying at a shelter, but the outreach center was trying to help him find an apartment.

He told me his name, that he was born in Syracuse and raised in Florida. It’s good you’re not there now, I told him, with Hurricane Matthew bearing down and forcing evacuations. He’d heard about the hurricane, and agreed.

I want to know the rest of his story, what he was reading on his phone that was tearing him up. But that’s for another time.

“I hope your day gets better,” I said.

A hint of a smile showed in his eyes.

He didn’t ask for anything, and he gave me so much.

About Jim McKeever

Observer, writer, father, runner based in Central New York.
This entry was posted in Homeless, Irish Investigations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to ‘Thanks for noticing’

  1. Deborah Kelly Tarbell says:

    Some times that all we need…have someone notice. Especially people in marginal situations… thank you for being a good human,something we all should aspire to.

    Like

  2. Angie Mc says:

    The meeting of two big hearts ❤️❤️

    Like

  3. Being noticed can sometimes in it’s self be the best thing to do for one another. I’m curious. But I’m glad you reached out to him.

    Like

  4. Jim, we see so many people like this and no one looks them in the eye. You noticed his pain, I would have too, not sure if I would have been brave enough to ask him if he was okay. Good on you, thanks for proving we humans can be compassionate, we all should be following your lead. My what a nice world that would be.

    Like

  5. Stephanie DeJoseph says:

    As I read this I could feel this interaction. I think you were put on this earth to share that big heart of yours, Jim. I do believe you made a difference in that man’s day and have no doubt that you will continue to do so.

    Like

  6. chmjr2 says:

    I have missed your insights the last few months, but did not realize how much until I read this posting from you.

    Like

  7. Cindy Paikin says:

    So many people out there just need to feel like they matter….you did that Jim….not surprised…

    Like

Leave a Reply

